Latest Book Haul: Intermediate-Advanced Korean and Beginner-Intermediate Japanese Language Books

Book haul alerrrrt!

I think I spent too much money on language books these past few months, but honestly I am not regretting it ㅋㅋ. Finally I was able to purchase the books that I have always wanted to get. It is quite difficult to purchase foreign books in the Philippines so I think it would be better to hoard books while I am here in Korea. I also felt the need to upgrade my Korean language books from Intermediate level to Advanced since I am taking a Korean Level 5 class this semester. I also wanted to study Japanese again so I got some books to refresh my Nihongo skills.

I will just go through the books then make a separate post/review about each book or series to help language students/enthusiasts in looking for useful Korean language/Japanese language books.

Boooooks!

Boooooks!

#1. Korea University’s 재미있는 한국어 3, 4 and 5

I did not buy these books because I wanted to but because I needed to ㅋㅋ! This series is used by our school for our Korean language classes. I purchased Level 3 last semester then Level 4 and 5 last February. Level 3 and 4 costs 28,000 won each while Level 5 is sold at 23,000 won. Since I have used this book last semester, I can say that I am pretty satisfied with the contents and how the vocabulary and grammar lessons were organized. Even though I am quite biased towards Yonsei University’s books, I cannot deny the fact that Korea University also has a great Korean language book series.

Korea University's Korean Language Books ( Levels 3, 4 and 5)

Korea University’s Korean Language Books ( Levels 3, 4 and 5)

#2. Yonsei Korean Reading 4

This is one of the books that I have been wanting to buy and I finally got it! I love using the Yonsei Korean Reading series to practice my Korean language reading skills. I have already read the first two or three chapters of this book during our winter break and they were very challenging! I love how the book uses unfamiliar vocabulary words in each reading chapter and it helps me expand my vocabulary bank! I am excited to write a review of this book soon \O//

Yonsei University's Korean Reading 4

Yonsei University’s Korean Reading 4

#.3 HangulPark’s 살이있는 한국어 series a.k.a Korean-Language-Books-You-Need-To-Have Series ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

I sooooo loooooove this series from HangulPark! I got the 속담/Proverbs book as a prize for a Korean language speaking activity in class and I fell in love with it after studying the lessons. When I searched for the book online, I saw that there are two more books in the series- the idiomatic expressions book and the Chinese 4-word sayings. Another reason why I purchased the other books was because my Korean Level 5 teacher told us to study more proverbs, idiomatic expressions and Chinese 4-word sayings for they are frequently used in the Advanced level.

살아있는 한국어 Series

살아있는 한국어 Series

#4. Korean Grammar in Use – Advanced

Of course I will not miss buying the infamous Korean Grammar in Use book! I have read good reviews about this book so I did not hesitate to buy it. I honestly need to study more advanced Korean grammar patterns so I think I will use this one the most.

Korean Grammar in Use - Advanced

Korean Grammar in Use – Advanced

Aside from Korean language books, I also purchased few Japanese language books in English and Korean. I have studied Japanese when I was still in the university and we used the Genki series. I want to challenge myself in studying Japanese using books written in Korean so I purchased a couple of books. It’s like hitting two birds with one stone- studying Japanese at the same time as studying Korean. There are also plenty of good (and cheap!) Japanese language books sold in Korean bookstores so I had to hoard some.

#5. Preparation for the Japanese Language Proficiency Test – N4

This is the N4 book from this preparation for the JLPT books. One of my friends recommended this book’s series for being a good reviewer for the JLPT so I got myself a copy of the N4 reviewer. I asked my friend to buy it for me when she went to Kyobo Bookstore located in Gwanghwamun. My friend also bought the N3 reviewer for the two of us to share and use together. I haven’t really used this reviewer since I am still in the process of recovering my Nihongo skills but I think this is really a good one ㅋㅋ.

Preparation for Japanese Language Proficiency Test N4 Book

Preparation for Japanese Language Proficiency Test N4 Book

#6. New TOP 일본어 첫걸음

These are the books I currently use to review my beginner Japanese. I am still in the Introductory book which reminded me so much of my earlier days in studying Japanese. The “Korean style” of studying Japanese is quite different from what I was used to do using the Genki beginner books. I am still on the process of adjusting to this Korean way of studying Japanese but I am really excited to study more! I think these books are worth every won you have paid.

TOP Japanese Language Books - Introductory Book + Beginner Japanese

TOP Japanese Language Books – Introductory Book + Beginner Japanese

#7. 민나노 日本語  – Beginner to Intermediate Book 1 and 2 (Step 3 and 4)

This Japanese language book series is published by the same company who published the NEW TOP 일본어 첫걸음. I was actually skeptical if I am going to buy these books since I cannot find good reviews online and I was only buying online so I had no chance to look at the contents. What I did was I only purchased the first book together with the New TOP series, just to check the contents before I get the next book. I checked the first book from the Beginner-Intermediate series as soon as it was delivered and after going through the contents, I immediately went online and ordered the next book ㅋㅋ. I am planning to get the Intermediate level books too but maybe after I finish studying these two.

민나노 日本語 Series - Beginner to Intermediate Books 1 and 2

민나노 日本語 Series – Beginner to Intermediate Books 1 and 2

I still have two books that I forgot to include in the list but I would just write reviews about them next time. There you go with the overview of my latest book haul!  I promised myself not to get new language books unless I finish studying all of these! ㅋㅋTime to examine each book and write the reviews ㅋㅋ^^ 기대하세요!

14 thoughts on “Latest Book Haul: Intermediate-Advanced Korean and Beginner-Intermediate Japanese Language Books

  1. Let me just say first: I LOVE your blog theme! It’s so cute! 😀
    Wow, you sure do have a lot of books now! I didn’t know you were in Korea, are you there to study Korean at university?
    The 살아있는 한국어 books look really interesting, I need to check them out!

    • Hi!! Thank you!^^ I think I bought too many books but they were too awesome to not purchase ㅋㅋㅋ I am currently in Korea for my Graduate studies and fortunately we were offered Korean classes as a part of our curriculum^^ I love the 살아있는 한국어 series! I’ll try my best to post the reviews as soon as possible! ㅋㅋ

  2. It’s very difficult to buy Korean books in my country too. I always wish I could travel to Korean and buy many Korean books. Your new Korean books are my favourite. I have the series 살아있는 한국어 and totally fall in love with it. The series provides the scenario and a lot of examples, exercises so that we can remember the proverbs or idioms.

    • I’m glad to hear that I am not aloooone! The 살아있는 한국어 series is sooo nice, right? I wish we could purchase foreign books easily in our own countries =<

  3. Wow what a nice collection you have there! I loooove buying new Korean books too, but I’m going to wait until I completed more before buying new ones again. When I go to Korea at some point I will definitely make sure to leave plenty of room for both books and clothes in my suitcase 😀

    How is it to study Japanese through Korean? I follow English/kana versions in my evening class, but half of my notes are in Korean anyway.

    • You should leave plentyyyyy of spaces for Korean books! Especially if you’re planning to hoard language books and Korean novels kk.

      I find it challenging to study Japanese through Korean. I still find it hard difficult to understand some grammar explanations. I am also wondering why there were no how-to-write-Kanji lessons on the Korean books ㅠㅠ But so far so good.. The lessons in the introductory book are still the basics and I still now most of them, thanks to Genki.

      You’re using Genki too, right? Kk when I was studying Japanese in the university, I always translate the words to Korean ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

      • Duly noted, I will make sure to have space 😉

        I think I would also need to spend a lot more time on it if I had to rely on all Korean/Japanese explanations. It’s really cool that you’re doing it, since it’s bound to make sense, though.

        I use “Japanese for Busy People” (English/kana) for grammar etc and Minna no nihongo for kanji. So far that works rather well, but I should study more.

        Maybe the lack of Korean kanji books is because they sell more hanja books instead? The only problem is that some of the characters are not written in the same way in Japanese and Korean since some of the kanji are simplified Chinese and obviously the pronunciation is different so a hanja book can only get you so far in Japanese…

      • Maybe they have separate books for Kanji that I am not yet aware of haha! But yes, they do have plenty of Hanja books so maybe their knowledge of Chinese characters is given consideration that’s why the books doesn’t have any stroke patterns for Kanji.

  4. It’s so easy to get books here in Korea and even though you already have a lot you just can’t stop! Anyway, about the 민나 노 니혼고 , there’s two types. One for self study and one used for 어학원 which is the one you bought. I’ve thought of buying that one but I read a review that it’s hard for self-study so I just went for the popular 굿모닝 독학책 and 문법책.

    • I agree with youuu! I just can’t stop buying books >< For the Minna no Nihonggo book, I also noticed that it is a book used in Hagwons but I still bought it since my goal is to just review my basic Japanese. I quite agree that the Minna no Nihonggo series is quite challenging for beginners who ought to self-study Japanese.

      By the way, I have a question. Does the 굿모닝 독학책 contains lessons on Kanji? Like stroke orders and Chi/Jap readings?

      • There are small booklets that comes along with the book. One is for grammar review and one is for Kana and Kanji. There’s stroke order, meaning and how to read them.

  5. Pingback: [BOOK REVIEW] 살아있는 한국어 – 속담 (Korean Proverbs) |

Leave a Reply

