TOPIK Talks: Study Vocabulary > Study Grammar?

The month of August ends today and it’s less than 2 months before the 32nd TOPIK. I am not yet prepared because of my very busy schedule in school that I have to stop studying for TOPIK to focus on my current subjects. I’ve also blogged about me studying Japanese this semester. I am really having difficulties with some grammar rules so I have to give more time in studying Japanese than studying Korean.

Since I’m very pissed off with my performance in our Japanese language class, I decided to take a break from reviewing Japanese to continue studying my Intermediate Korean! My Korean professor organized a special review class for 32nd Intermediate TOPIK takers just like last year so I think I really have to balance my time studying for my major subjects, required subjects, Japanese language subject and TOPIK.

I tried to review my Intermediate grammar using the 150 Intermediate TOPIK Grammar book but I became quite bored reading the lessons that I have already read. It is nice that I can still recall the Intermediate grammar patterns and how do they differ from each other but I realized that I have to have the diligence and patience to re-read the book! I hate re-reading books because I easily get bored re-reading what I have already read unless I am forced or I am in the mood to do so ㅋㅋ.

Study Grammar or Study Vocabs?

I feel more confident with my grasp of Korean grammar than my Korean vocabulary. My Korean Vocabulary bank is really lacking of new Intermediate words and expressions! I always encounter unfamiliar words whenever I am watching a Korean variety show or drama but I always get lazy to list down those words and to look them up in the dictionary. I’ve also tried those flashcard apps but after a week or two of using them, I stop inputting new words ㅜㅜ.

In my opinion, enriching one’s Korean vocabulary is very much helpful especially during TOPIK. In my case, I can already “guess” the meaning of the grammar pattern depending on the context or the sentence construction if I have already encountered that particular grammar pattern. But I find it really difficult to guess the meaning of a word using context clues!

After evaluating my performance in the previous TOPIK, I think I really need to put so much effort in adding more words to my Korean vocabulary bank. I’ve tried translating songs and subbing Korean variety shows but I guess, the new words that I studied will evaporate after few days 😦

I know that it is better to LEARN than to MEMORIZE but I think I still haven’t found the right method that suits me when studying vocabulary words. I guess I have to work harder to enrich my vocabs first than re-reading my TOPIK 150 book. \O/

6 thoughts on “TOPIK Talks: Study Vocabulary > Study Grammar?

  1. There is not much time to prepare for the 32th Topik, so I evaluate my last performance in the previous TOPIK and concentrate on my weakness which is listening and writing. I write korean diaries every day to improve my writing skill, but I am still reluctant to write about Topik writing topics. And about listening skill, I don’t know how to improve it yet =.=

    About the vocabulary, in the last Topik exam, I got really high marks for this part (88) and I think it is because I did all the previous Vocabulary-Grammar Topik sections and learned from the book “topik 150 essential grammar”

    I have the same problem with you. I feel tired to re-read that Topik 150 book to prepare for the 32th topik”. =.=

    • Sighs. I want to buy the Yonsei TOPIK Vocab review book but I don’t have enough funds HAHAHA! Anyways, I’m trying out a KLPT reviewer for a change. It has more vocab practice than the TOPIK 150 book ;~;

  2. Do you mean the book” Yonsei Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners”?
    I am doing the sample tests from the book “Topik Master -intermediate”. This book has 10 sample tests and there are explanations for vocab, Grammars…. But those tests are more difficult than the real topik tests.

      • Yes, I am using that series. This book is very interesting with many categories like food, relationships, economy, culture, health…. They also have proverbs, idioms, chinese character phrases, mimetic words, onomatopoeias which are useful for the topik.

        But when I use that book, I feel like reading a dictionary with definition, usage, antonym, example…….Luckily, it has exercises for us to review our vocab. But my style is learning vocab through reading and music, so I have difficult time studying this book.

Leave a Reply

