Saving up for Korean Books

I was able to finish doing my acad homeworks yesterday so that I’ll have some time to update this blog. And finally I was able to make a  list of books that I want to buy. Actually I can have a photocopy of most of the books that I want to buy since there’s a library of Korean books in KCC, but still I want to have my own copy of the book and the audio CD. It’s also a good investment, collecting Korean language books 😀

I saved 6(six) books in my cart on Seoul Selection. I used to buy books in Hannam University’s bookstore, Daejeon Eunhaeng-dong’s Bookshop and in GMarket but since I’m already in the Philippines, I can recommend Seoul Selection or GMarket.

Korean Books – Intermediate Level

1. Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners – Intermediate Level

Price: KRW25,000/USD22.42

Pages: 405
Cover: Paperback
Dimensions (in inches): 7.47 x 10.11 x 0.66

2. Korean Grammar Practice for Foreigners – Intermediate Level

Price: KRW25,000/USD22.42

Pages: 354
Cover: Paperback
Dimensions (in inches): 7.47 x 10.11 x 0.66

3. Yonsei Korean Workbook 3

Price: KRW19,000/USD17.04

Pages: 296
Cover: Softcover
Dimensions (in inches): 8.26 x 11.73 x 0.55

4. Yonsei Korean Speaking 3 (with 2 Audio CDs)

Price: KRW30,000/USD26.91

Pages: 399
Cover: Softcover
Dimensions (in inches): 8.46 x 11.81 x 0.78

5. Yonsei Korean Reading 3 (with Audio CD)

Price: KRW19,000/USD17.04

Pages: 209
Cover: Softcover
Dimensions (in inches): 11.69 x 8.27 x 0.49

6. Korean in 100 Hours 4 (with Audio CD)

Price: KRW25,000/USD22.42

Pages: 221
Cover: Softcover
Dimensions (in inches): 8.26 x 11.81 x 0.59

I also checked the shipping rates if I buy the books. I chose EMS since it’s fast and trackable. I don’t chose Airmail since it’s just cheaper by around 150-200php and I have to wait for 3 weeks! No.

This photo above is for 6(six) books. Total amount of books is 143,000won/128.25USD. EMS Shipping Fee to Philippines is 44,654won/40.05USD. Total: 187,654won/168.30USD. I converted it to PHP via Paypal payment and it’s around 7000php+. Ouch. Quite expensive so I removed two books, the Korean grammar and Korean vocabulary practice for foreigners. I will just buy them next time.

So here’s the total for the 4(four) books. Total amount of books is 93,000won/83.41USD and Shipping Fee is 36,558 won/32.79USD. Total: 129,558won/116.20USD. Amout in PHP via Paypal payment: Around 5000php. Still expensive but I still have 4 months to save for this.

So why Yonsei Korean books? I was able to use Yonsei books when I was studying in Korea. I will make a separate post for the book review on the Korean Language Learning Resources page soon! 🙂 For now, I have to work again, save money which means cutting down Milk Tea and french fries expenses haha!

4 thoughts on “Saving up for Korean Books

    • Me too! I can’t afford all the Korean books available so I photocopy them in our school. Or if I found some useful sources on the internet, I print them and study them 🙂

  1. Hi ! Somehow, I found your blog again while searching for Korean online bookstores that accepts Paypal. 🙂 In my case, I’m interested in famous Korean phrases 명구(名句) and Korean word origins 어원(語源), not so much much conversational Korean. I find studying these word origins interesting. For example, I didn’t know before that 고추 was 고초(苦草), literally a bitter herb/spice, but we know it isn’t, right ? I learned why it was called like that before here:

    Another decent book about Korean words and phrases is “Looking for a Mr. Kim in Seoul”. On one part, it even compares South Korean words versus North Korean, like for helicopter, its 헬리콥터 in S.Korea but 직승기(直昇機) in N.Korea. For me, the North Korean word is better. Anyway, maybe anyone would also want to check out this book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

